Coffee Philosophy

I love coffee – absolutely love it. It makes me happy to drink it, but really only good coffee in particular. One could easily consider me a coffee snob if they got to know the depths of me. But I like it black and bitter, black and bitter enough to kick me in the back of the throat as I drink it. I have a philosophy about coffee. It is my own personal philosophy, though I have come to believe that it is sure to be shared by many like-minded people, and it is this…. I liken coffee to steak. I love steak (though truthfully I don’t eat it much anymore), but I love steak cooked medium rare, or rare even. If I have a good steak cooked medium rare, I want nothing on it, just the steak and steak alone. I need no condiments, and in fact, condiments will only contribute to the ruin of such deliciousness. If, however, a steak is cooked well done, or even in a way that nears all the way through, I need A-1 sauce in order to enjoy it.

So it is with coffee. If I am drinking good coffee, I want it all by itself. No sugar, no creamer – nothing. If, however, I am drinking bad coffee, I need to sweeten it to bring it to a tolerable level. So in a perfect world I would always be drinking black coffee.

May it one day be so.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment